Tartare de boeuf – yay or nay?

28 Feb

Remember that episode of Mr. Bean wherein he orders from a french restaurant and it turned out to be raw ground meat? He ended up hiding parts of it under the glass, in the bread, in an old lady’s bag…You get the idea.

Well that dish is called Tartare de Boeuf. Basically it’s raw meat. Traditionally it’s a piece of steak that’s sliced and minced really finely. It’s seasoned with shallots, capers, cornichons, mustard, Worcestershire sauce and a raw egg.

Strange, I know, but the French love it. Every time one of our friends order it in a restaurant I always always ask how in the world are they able to eat raw meat. And they always always answer that it’s because it’s good. And then remind me that it’s just like sushi – but with meat. So my curiosity got the best of me. I’ve been thinking of trying out this steak tartare for a long time now. But I want to try it in a good, sure restaurant. I have no plans of getting sick and vomiting the whole night.

So the other day, when we went to celebrate a friend’s new work contract, I finally did it. I ordered the Tartare de boeuf with sun dried tomatoes.

 

I loved it!!!!!

The texture didn’t bother me at all. I loved the pepz of the capers and sun dried tomatoes with the meat. I don’t know if I can describe it as like eating steak but softer coz it didn’t feel like it was steak.

So another culinary discovery, another favorite dish. Tartare de boeuf is definitely a YAY for me!!

Leave a Reply

