Sunday is market day

19 Feb

It has been a while since I’ve woken up early enough, on a Sunday, or should I say it has been a while since I wasn’t lazy enough to go down early on a Sunday and check out the open market just a block away from our place.

It’s a very small market compared to other areas but I can get most of what I need and the quality of the food is really good. It is relatively more expensive than the supermarket but it’s fresher and, well,  it’s such a french thing to do.

The oysters are crazy expensive. You have to pay 1 euro to get them opened. In Iloilo, where my mom is from, 1 euro (60 pesos) is already for half a sack of oysters.

This is where we buy flowers whenever we’re invited to Sunday lunch.

It still creeps me out whenever I see whole butchered rabbits on the stalls.

There are a whole lot other stalls that I wasn’t able to take pictures of.   There are a couple of poissoiniers, fromageres, people who sell bags, accessories, and a lot more. Even if you’re not going to buy anything, it’s just interesting to go to a marche and people watch.

Maybe in the summer, when there are more vendors I’ll try to go more regularly.

Leave a Reply

