Hello Laverie, nice to see you again.

30 Jan

It’s the middle of winter (or pseudo winter) and we practically live under the duvet and the sheets. I love the duvet covers we find in the stores these days and they are so practical to use and wash. But every once in a while one needs to wash the actual duvet.

So it was on a Sunday morning that I found myself loading up the 18 kilo machine with our favorite duvet.

Before I found out how much of a chore doing laundry is, I actually loved the idea of going to the laverie. I remember the first time we went there with our huge Ikea bag filled with dirty laundry. I loved the smell of laundry soap, fabric softener and the heat of the dryers. I loved watching the clothes turning in the machine and the socks flying in the tumble dryer.

But it became such a hassle and we bought our own washing machine for the flat. No more heavy trips to the laverie – it was such a chore.

And this time around I had to go to the laverie at 10 am on a Sunday. Such a drag but it had to be done. Plus I forgot to bring laundry soap so I had to buy some. 1.20 for the Ariel soap.

And now we have a warm, good as new, fluffy duvet to keep us warm for the rest of the pseudo winter. So in hind sight, this is one chore I don’t mind doing – every 6 months or so.

*Here’s a tip: Add tennis balls in your machine when washing and drying. It keeps the material inside from clumping up. You’ll end up with a really fluffy duvet.

2 Responses to “Hello Laverie, nice to see you again.”

  1. Denise January 31, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Salut! Thanks for the “tennis ball” tip! i’ll surely try this next time! 🙂

    By the way, nice blog! I enjoy reading your entries as I find them very entertaining and I also love living my life the parisian way! 😉

    Is there a way we can send PMs? It’ll be great to have more friends in the city. I’ve been here since 2003 and married to a frenchie.

    ‘Hope to hear from u!

    D

    • xcinthecity January 31, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

      Salut! Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been here since September 2008. I’ll email you so we can exchange Parisian stories 🙂

Leave a Reply

