Soft cinnamon sugar pretzels

18 Sep

For someone who has self-diagnosed ADHD I sure can’t stop obsessing about an idea that I’ve had in passing.

The other day I saw the unopened can of active dried yeast I bought during my breadmaker obsession days – which stopped as soon as I bought the can of yeast. Hello ADHD. Anyway, I made up my mind to do something with it this weekend. I first thought about doing some moroccan bread with a tajine or couscous dish. But I didn’t have enough spices for the tajine dish I wanted to make. So I searched again. Until I stumbled upon this site: Bretzels Moeulleux. It means soft pretzels in english and reminded me of Aunti Anne’s pretzels back home.

So at 9pm last night I went and fed my obsession.

Although I cut the original recipe in half, made it as cinnamon-sugar (so no salt on top of the pretzels), have a crappy oven, and they did not turn out as pretty as the original ones they did taste very good.

For a first time pretzel maker, I’d say I did pretty well. I probably need more practice in forming them though.

So here’s the recipe cut in half. I was able to make 4 pretzels with it:

What you need:

125 mL warm milk

1 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast

1 1/2 Tablespoon brown sugar

140 g flour – you might need maybe 2 Tablespoons more

1 Tablespoon melted butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

For the water bath:

750 mL water

1/3 cup  baking soda

For the topping

3 Tablespoons butter

cinnamon-sugar mix

What to do:

– In a mixing bowl, pour warm milk and yeast. Wait for maybe 2 minutes and add the sugar. Wait for another 8 minutes just until the yeast looks frothy.

– Add half of the flour, the melted butter, the rest of the flour and finally the salt.

– If you have a mixer with a dough hook, mix it just until the dough does not stick to the sides of the bowl anymore. At this stage you might need to add a bit of flour if you see that the dough is too sticky.

– Transfer the dough onto your work surface. Form into a ball. Lightly oil a big bowl, put dough ball in it, cover with a kitchen towel, put it in a warm place and let rise for about an hour.

– Preheat the oven to 210C. Punch the dough to let the air out and transfer to your floured work surface. Cut the dough into 4 and form them into pretzels.

– Heat the water and baking soda in a casserole. Make sure the water is not boiling. Poach the pretzels and put on the baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden.

– Brush tops with melted butter and dunk in cinnamon-sugar mix.

– Enjoy.

I warned you mine didn’t turn out very pretty. Next time maybe I’ll need to roll them out thinner and form bigger pretzels coz they rise a LOT in the oven.

But I promise you they are really good.

Leave a Reply

