The Musee du Quai Branly Gift Shop

13 Jun

Thanks to the husband’s job, we have a pass to go to the Louvre and the Musee du Quai Branly anytime we want. This includes all permanent collections, temporary exhibits, talks, and any other activity in those two museums. We haven’t used it to go to the Louvre yet. I think I got sick of the museum when I was living in Paris with my parents and I was tasked to go tour the Louvre with our visitors.

But we have used the pass a lot of times to go to see the Musee du Quai Branly. It features indigenous art and what-nots from Asia, Africa, Oceana – in other words – exotic tribal stuff. We have seen the temporary exhibits on the Dogon, the Baba lifestyle exhibit, and have attended a talk on cannibalism. Culture kung culture ito.

And everytime we go there, I always make it a point to pass by their gift shop. I haven’t bought anything yet, and they don’t often change what they sell but I still like looking at the bric-a-bracs sold in the store, often made from emerging countries.

I super love the colorful hippos – some are piggy banks (or should I say hippo banks), some can be used as paper weights I guess or just as decoration.


I love this super cutie doll from Soweto, South Africa. I think part of the sale profits are given to the kids whose drawings were converted into dolls.

There’s supposed to be an elephant somewhere in there. But I love these colorful animals made from straw

We wanted to buy this book on the legends and fairy tales of the Philippines – but it was hecka expensive. Maybe next time?

This one we did get. Well, the husband bought it years ago from the shop and it’s just cool that they still print and sell it.

You? Are there any cool museum gift shops you window shop at?

Leave a Reply

