Cotes de porc au curry et au miel

29 Dec

I bought some pork chops (cotes de porc) the other day not knowing what kind of preparation to do with them. All I knew then was that I wanted some meat. I usually make Lemon-Thym Pork when I have chops but I felt like changing things up this time around.

I saw this recipe from Marmiton.org and at first I thought the mixture of curry and honey quite odd. But I had all the ingredients in my pantry so I decided to try it out.

top notch curry and honey

 

This is one of the easiest recipes ever. What you’ll need (for 2 people):

  • 2 Pork chops
  • 1 Tablespoon of oil (I used olive oil)
  • 2 Tablespoons of honey
  • 1 Tablespoon of curry powder
  • 1/4  lemon
  • Knob of butter
  • Salt and pepper

1. Season the chops with salt and pepper.

2. In a small bowl, mix the oil, honey, curry powder and the lemon juice.

3. Melt the butter on a non-stick pan in medium heat. Sear the chops, 7 minutes on each side or until brown.

4. When the chops are half done, add the honey and curry mixture.

5. Turn the chops regularly in the sauce until they are cooked.

Make sure that the sauce does not dry out. Serve with steamed veggies.

 

The result was bluffant. The honey nicely caramelized the pork and the curry gave it some zing. I didn’t really get the hint of lemon, maybe I didn’t put in enough but it was good all the same. So good in fact that we finished half a baguette just dipping into the sauce.

The whole flat smells like curry right now but it was worth it. This is a good dish to serve when you don’t have much time nor money and you’re dead tired from working the whole day.

 

Tomorrow, it’s the last raclette party of the year!

 

Leave a Reply

