Almond Biscotti

24 Oct

I’ve never been a fan of biscotti, I’ve always found the almond flavor too strong.  And it’s hecka expensive for a cookie too.

But I haven’t baked anything lately and well, I wanted to make something that’s not too chocolatey and buttery (read: diet). Plus, when I saw this video, I knew that this is what I need to make.

I just followed Guiseppe’s recipe but cut it in half. I guess I got about 14 or so biscotti.

 

What you need:

  • 1 cup of almonds
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

– Toast almonds in a pan over medium heat for 8-10 minutes.

– Preheat oven to 300 degrees F

– In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs, vanilla extract and almond extract together.

– In a big bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and sugar until well blended. Add the egg mixture and mix until a dough forms. You can use an electric mixer for this step. Add toasted almonds.

– On a lightly floured surface, roll dough into a log. Transfer log onto a parchment lined baking sheet and bake in oven for 30-40 minutes or until the dough is firm to the touch.

– Transfer the log onto a cutting board and let cool for a few minutes. With a serated knife, cut 1/2 inch thick slices diagonally.

– Arrange the slices onto the baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, turn them over then bake for another 10 minutes.

– Remove from oven, brew some coffee and enjoy!

There are some recipes that include butter or oil. This one doesn’t and I found the biscotti a bit on the dry side. Maybe next time I’ll try this recipe from Smitten Kitchen. I guess adding butter makes it feel more like a real dessert cookie.

Next time.

Keep the biscotti in an airtight container to keep it fresh. This can keep for maybe a week or so.

Leave a Reply

