5 hours in Amsterdam

24 Oct

Last Tuesday I had to go to Amsterdam to see a client. My meeting was at 11:30 so I booked the 6:25 am train from Paris. Over the weekend the RATP and SNCF announced that they will have an extendable strike starting, guess when, Tuesday. Great. I had to leave home at 5:30 to get the first metro. Luckily I arrived at Gare du Nord on time. And good thing I was in first class. There’s wifi and free breakfast and snacks in first class.

Our train was half an hour late and so when I arrived in Amsterdam, I just had enough time to buy a day pass and get my tram to the client’s office. Spent 30 minutes with the client and at 12 noon I was free to roam around the city. I had 3 hours to kill before my train back.

I’ve been to Amsterdam before so I wasn’t really interested in seeing museums and such. Plus I was alone. So what’s the next best thing? Go shopping!

 

Snapped a couple of photos and walked around the shopping area.

I was surprised at how much construction was going on in the city.

It was a tuesday and it was hecka cold so there were not a lot of people on the streets.

When one says Amsterdam, one thinks of bikes and canals. This canal cruise boat is called the Flying Dutchman.

Aside from cheese, I didn’t really know much about Dutch food specialties so I had no clue as to where to get lunch. I found this really nice canteen like place where you choose fresh ingredients and they make your food in front of you. From woks, soups, salads to grilled fish and steaks to pizza and sandwiches and a fresh fruit bar. Gosh I miss Dampa.

I got pizza. So much for Dutch specialties.

After lunch I continued to roam aimlessly around town. Business trips can be so tiring and boring. I was glad to hop on to my train back to Paris. First class again of course.

3 and a half hours later I was back in Paris and went straight to a friend’s house for a dinner party which lasted until 2 am.

Good thing I was able to sleep comfortably on the train.

Not a bad ending for a long and tiring day. Although I don’t think I’ll be doing any 1 day business trips again any time soon.

afternoon snack in the train

One Response to “5 hours in Amsterdam”

  1. ksam October 25, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Ugh, I hear ya – I travel a lot for work and sometimes it can be really tiring. Though most of my travel is within France, so there’s no free wifi, snacks or brekkie! 😉

Leave a Reply

