Tarte aux tomates

28 Aug

We *heart* tomatoes. My favorite tomato recipe is the mom in law’s tomate farcie or stuffed tomato. She always tries to make this one when we come over and I never get tired of it.

My new second favorite tomato recipe is a savory tomato tart. It’s sort of like a quiche without the cream but it’s also not like pizza. I first tried this tarte at a friend’s place and I wanted to finish the whole thing but then it wouldn’t have been very polite.

My first attempt in doing this was a failure. I put too many tomatoes and forgot to put olive oil and so it just wasn’t right somehow. But this one is exactly the way we wanted it to look like, and taste like, of course. Although next time I’ll use cherry tomatoes.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pate brisee or feuilletee
  • 2 to 3 big tomatoes thinly sliced or 300g cherry tomatoes cut in half
  • grated cheese, I used gruyere
  • fresh basil
  • dried oregano
  • mustard
  • olive oil
  • 2 slices prosciutto or jambon de bayon, chopped

– Preheat oven to 300 degrees

– Roll out the pate brisee onto a tart mold. Spread some mustard onthe bottom of the tart.

– Arrange the tomatoes on the tart sprinkle with chopped fresh basil, some dried oregano and the chopped prosciutto

– Cover everything with grated gruyere cheese. Season with a bit of salt and pepper

– Pour a bit of olive oil on top of the tart

– Put in oven and bake for 30-40 minutes until the top is brown.

Bon appetit!

One Response to “Tarte aux tomates”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where’s the spirit – update – « XC in the City - October 5, 2010

    […] I’m going to change my mind by tonight and probably decide on making frozen quiche if not a tarte aux tomates with […]

Leave a Reply

