First attempt in making pandesal

26 Sep

When I posted on Facebook that I felt like making pandesal over the weekend a friend of mine posted a comment saying that I was crazy. Maybe I was. I was so pumped up trying out my bread making skills – well, I just really wanted to use up the can of yeast I bought a couple of weeks ago.

Also, I wanted to try using my kitchen-aid like machine instead of my bread maker to make the dough – much like what I did when I made the pretzels.

And so with the ohsumness that is Google, I started searching for an easy pandesal recipe. There were recipes that called for baking soda, for eggs, for milk, for butter – soooo complicated. I didn’t think the classic pandesal actually had these ingredients. Sure, they maybe made home-made pandesal yummier but still – I didn’t think that the panaderia would use a lot of eggs and butter and baking powder for a pandesal that would sell for less than 1 peso.

Anyway I didn’t have eggs at home so some of those recipes were already out of the question. Then I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com.

I had everything needed on hand and no complicated ingredients to boot. Cool. I just had to try it. So at 9 am (not very panaderia-like) I went to work. It was very easy especially with the mixer although I had no clue what the finished dough should feel like. My dough ended up very smooth and quite elastic and soft so I thought that was quite good.

They turned out sooo pretty  and yummy(for first time home made pandesal). They were crusty on the outside and soft inside. I tweaked the recipe a bit because the reviews said the original recipe turned out bland and adviced to add more sugar. It turned out too sweet for my taste. So I guess I’ll follow the original recipe to the letter next time. The reviews also said the pandesals turned hard when cooled. It didn’t happen to mine – they remained soft even hours after.

I ate mine straight from the oven with butter and the husband had his with Nutella. This recipe is definitely going into my Recipe Journal and will be a weekend treat every now and then.

It does take hours to make this but most of that is just waiting for the yeast to rise but let me tell you that it really is worth the wait.

I think I’ll also try this recipe from Market Manila – it has eggs in it but maybe that does make a difference in the end.

 

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 1 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 1  teaspoons salt
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
What to do:
  1. Put the warm water in a small mixing bowl and add the yeast and 1 teaspoon of the sugar; stir to dissolve. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the remaining sugar and the oil and mix until smooth. Add the salt, 1 cup of flour and the yeast mixture; stir well. Add the remaining cups flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.
  3. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth, supple and elastic; about 10 minutes. Lightly oil a large mixing bowl, place the dough in it and turn to coat the dough with oil. Cover with a damp towel or plastic wrap and let sit in a warm place until the dough has doubled in volume; about 1 hour.
  4. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and divide into 4 equal pieces. Form each piece into a cylinder and roll out until the ‘log’ is 1/2 inch in diameter. Using a sharp knife, cut each ‘log’ into 1/2 inch pieces. Place the pieces, flat side down, onto two lightly greased baking sheets. Gently press each roll down to flatten.
  5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  6. Cover the rolls with a damp cloth and let rise until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes.
  7. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) until golden brown, about 20 minutes.
Easy peasy.
One Response to “First attempt in making pandesal”

  1. u8mypinkcookies October 2, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    yummmmy with peanut butter or butter & sugar!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

